Program Structure

An explanation of the QIO Program and its alignment with the CMS Meaningful Measures Framework
QIO Program Structure

How We Serve Medicare Beneficiaries

The Quality Improvement Organization (QIO) Program structure follows a functional model with two types of QIOs: Quality Innovation Network-QIOs (QIN-QIOs) and Beneficiary and Family Centered Care-QIOs (BFCC-QIOs).  Fourteen regional QIN-QIOs work with providers, community partners, beneficiaries and caregivers on multiple data-driven quality improvement initiatives to improve patient safety; reduce harm; engage beneficiaries, families and caregivers; improve care and reduce health care disparities. Two BFCC-QIOs manage all beneficiary complaints and appeals across the nation, ensuring that beneficiaries are treated fairly and helping them exercise their right to high-quality health care across care settings.

A graphic of a roman temple showing the structure of the QIO program

The QIO Program aligns with the six priorities of the CMS Meaningful Measures Framework:

  • Make care safer by reducing harm caused in the delivery of care.

  • Strengthen person and family engagement as partners in their care.

  • Promote effective communication and coordination of care.

  • Promote effective prevention and treatment of chronic disease.

  • Work with communities to promote best practices of healthy living.

  • Make care affordable.

Help spread the word!